Loading…
Back To Schedule
Friday, July 24 • 10:00am - 11:00am
Howard Cruse: The Godfather of Queer Comics

Sign up or log in to save this to your schedule, view media, leave feedback and see who's attending!

Feedback form is now closed.
Watch When Available!

YouTube: https://youtu.be/RcX-OQG8joc

Howard Cruse, widely recognized as the "godfather of queer comics," passed away on November 28th, 2019. He left behind a remarkable legacy as the creator of Gay Comix, Wendel, and Stuck Rubber Baby (back in print from First Second Books in a 25th Anniversary Edition). Howard Cruse not only broke open doors with his prodigious talent, but he held them open for those who came after him. Join Prism Comics and moderators Justin Hall (No Straight Lines, professor, California College of the Arts), Jennifer Camper (Juicy Mother, Queers & Comics Conference organizer) and Karen Green (curator for Comics and Cartoons at Columbia University) for three panels discussing Cruse's life and work featuring creators who worked with or knew Howard - Trina Robbins, Denis Kitchen, Roberta Gregory, Robert Triptow, Diane DiMassa, Robert Kirby, Ivan Velez Jr., Rupert Kinnard, Ajuan Mance, Steve MacIsaac, Tara Madison Avery, William O. Tyler, and Andy Mangels.

For more about Howard Cruse please visit http://www.howardcruse.com
For a historical tribute to Howard Cruse written by Andy Mangels please download the Comic-Con 2020 Souvenir Book.

Panelist Links
Tara Madison Avery - stackeddeckpress.com
Jennifer Camper - jennifercamper.com
Diane DiMassa - Facebook: Diane DiMassa Artist
Roberta Gregory - http://www.robertagregory.com
Justin Hall - justinhallawesomecomics.com
Rupert Kinnard, cartoonist - Facebook: Rupert Kinnard
Rob Kirby - robkirbycomics.com
Denis Kitchen - http://www.deniskitchen.com
Steve MacIsaac - stevemacisaac.com
Ajuan Mance - 8-rock.com
Andy Mangels - http://www.andymangels.com
Robert Triptow - https://roberttriptow.com
William O. Tyler - https://www.williamotyler.com
Ivan Velez Jr. - planetbronx.com
Prism Comics - https://www.prismcomics.org

Friday July 24, 2020 10:00am - 11:00am
Comic-Con@Home

Attendees (524)